top of page
Posts:
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.

Gardening Helps A Hurting Soul

These past few weeks have been really crazy! It seems like everything that can go wrong, is! So when I suggested to my wonderful mother that we go out to lunch to this really yummy place called Shiraz (in San Ramon), she was on board! We also agreed that we work on her garden. I'm the kind of person who is into gardening at first, but then doesn't want to get out there again. But, today, I told myself that I would give it another try!

I had a beautiful lunch with my mom, we went to Orchard Suppy and got some herbs and flowers, and then went to Nob Hill so we could rent The Book of Life from Red Box (who else is in love with Red Box?!). I also got my delicious Bobo's Oat Bars from Nob Hill! So, we went home, unpacked the plants and got into some gardening clothes.

I didn't realize how heartwarming and beautiful gardening is. I've done it plently of times, but I guess since my soul has been hurting lately, the beauty of gardening is more prominent.

Here are some of our plant babies! Gardenias are my favorite flower (in the very back).

It was just so nice to get outside for a few hours and nourish these plants. We also had a few helpers:

Here's Daisy with the tomato plant (top) and the herbs (bottom). She was Mommy's little helper/get-in-the-way-of-everything!

Brody on the other hand was not so into the gardening..

But he's still Mommy's helper by not sitting on the plant like Daisy was doing!

So, all-in-all, I realized that sometimes it's doing a craft like gardening to kind of find your Zen and get your mind to calm down and let all of the anxiety go. It's all about staying in the moment and enjoying time here on Earth. Get and get some dirt on your hands and make the world a little bit better of a place by helping yourself heal.

"Your own healing is a powerful contribution to the healing of everyone." -Unknown

What do you like doing to help heal your mind and soul?

bottom of page