top of page
Posts:
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.

My Skin Care Routine

I've gone through a lot of different skin care routines! I've tried all of the "acne-clearing" products from Neutrogina to Clean and Clear (*Note: neither of these are cruelty free or vegan!*). This was way before I even knew about animal testing, so I tried everything on the market. It was only about two years ago that I heard about all-natural skin care systems. I came across the Oil Cleansing Method. This is when you use carrier oil and a smoother oil combined to wash your face. Now, when I first heard about this, I thought "Oil...to wash..my FACE? But I already have oily skin!" Well, I was wrong! Washing your face with proper oils is one of the best things you can do for your skin! I started using Castor Oil and Olive Oil together and noticed a difference that I never noticed before in my cystic acne. After going on birth control and not worrying about my face since the BC "took care of it", I used the Exposed Skin Care System which really helped with little break outs (Exposed is cruelty free!).

Once I got off of birth control this past January, I went back to revamp my skin care oils! After doing research, I found out that Olive Oil is not the best oil to use if you have acne prone skin, so I decided to use Grapeseed Oil. I noticed a small difference in my skin, but the oil I have been using for the past few months and the one that I'm staying with because it is SO amazing: Hemp Seed Oil! This oil is beyond great for your skin and I have noticed the best results with this oil plus a dap of Castor Oil with it. If you want to know a lot more about skin care oils, you can find them here. Once I do enought research on each oil, I will write a special post about it! Until then, Dawn has the best all-natural tips and tricks!

Here is my full skin care get-up with a few different things that I switch up sometimes:

DAILY ROUTINE

Makeup Remover:

~Coconut Oil

Instructions: Steam face in the shower or with warm water. Gently rub oil all over face and eyes (careful with the eyes!). Gently pat off excess with a microfibre cloth (Amazon.com).

Face Cleanser:

~Hemp Seed Oil + A dab of Castor Oil

Intructions: Steam face in the shower or with warm water. Gently rub oils on your face and let it sit for a few minutes. Use a soft electronic face brush or a Konjac Sponge (I used a Vitagoods Spin Brush or I use an EcoTools konjac sponge). Wash off the excess oil with a microfibre cloth (I got mine from Amazon.com). *Note: make sure to wash the sponge/brush head after use.

Toner:

~Apple Cider Vinegar

~Grapeseed Oil OR Jojoba/Shea DIY Face Lotion (previous posts)

Intructions: Get an all-natural cotton ball and dab a tiny bit of ACV and water and lighty dab all over face avoiding the eyes. Dab a tiny bit of Grapeseed Oil or DIY face lotion onto your face.

Sunscreen:

~Elta MD Face Sunscreen

Instructions: Smooth a tiny amount all over face (not too much or it will make your skin look greasy).

FACE MASKS/SCRUBS

1. Apple Cider Vinegar + Bentonite Clay + Activated Charcoal

Mix together and leave on for about 10-15 min.

2. Organic Sugar + Oil of choice (I use Grapeseed or Hemp Seed)

Mix together and let the sugar dissolve for just a little bit (1-2 min.) Gently exfoliate onto face, rinse with warm water, and pat dry with a microfibre cloth.

TO SUPPLEMENT MY SKIN ON THE INSIDE OUT, I TAKE ABOUT 3 SPIRULINA TABLETS AND 1 DEVA VEGAN MULTIVITAMIN A DAY. AND OF COURSE, EATING A HEALTHY VEGAN DIET :)

bottom of page