top of page
Posts:
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.

Lurch From Berkeley

So, I was in Berkeley two Mondays ago (March 30th) with my wonderful boyfriend, Anthony, and we went to Cream. Cream is so amazing because it has gluten free (for Anthony) and vegan cookies and ice cream (for me)! The first time I went was after I made an appointment to get my tattoo done (over a month ago now, whaaaaaat?) and I got the snickerdoodle vegan cookie sandwich with soy vanilla ice cream in the middle. Waalllllaaaaa:

A scrumptious vegan cookie sandwich!

So, I went back on March 30th to show Dana, my outstanding tattoo artist, how my tattoo has healed. After I showed Dana, Anthony and I walked down a few blocks to Cream. It was horrific to see how many homeless people are in Berkeley. I honestly wish I could help all of them find a good, stable job and give them a better life. It's one of my missions in life to help those who are in need-animals and humans.

As I walked into cream and started drooling over all of the vegan cookies, a man outside caught my eye. He was sitting right near a tree about five feet away from the store. I immediatly thought about giving him some money and buying a vegan treat for him, but continued ordering my tuxedo cookie sandwich with soy vanilla ice cream in the middle.

I walked outside and was about to cross the street to go back to our car, when I knew I wanted to do something for him. I asked Anthony for some cash, walked over to the man, and gave him a $5 bill. Instead of just walking away after I handed him the money, I asked him how his day was going. I stood there and started talking with this man and asked what his name was. He said it was Lurch. I told Lurch that it was very nice to meet him and I shook his hand. We talked some more and he showed me what he called his "Shiny Things Collection". He asked me if I liked shiny things and I answered with a big "Oh, yes!" (I absolutely LOVE shiny and colorful things). Lurch explained what each rock/thing was and what was important about it. A man and a woman with a beautiful pitbull walked over and asked Lurch for a smoke. They, too were homeless. I asked Lurch if he liked ice cream, he said yes, and I told him I would be right back.

I walked back into Cream and ordered the exact same thing that I ordered. I walked back out and have him the vegan treat and talked with him somemore. I just remember him having the sweetest, most beautiful blue eyes. He was so kind and excited about his rock collection that he made my soul smile :) We ended our conversation with him giving me one of his beautiful rocks and saying what a beautiful smile I had. I told him that I wish he had a great rest of his day and I thanked him numerous times for his gift.

I walked away with true happiness. I hope to see Lurch again and offer him more this time. He is one of those rare people that you meet where you know they are just a purely good person. He made my day and possibly my life. Lurch was so kind and so respectful that I pray every night that he finds a great job and is able to rebuild his life. I would love to find him and help him if I can.

Lurch brings me the hope of restored faith in humanity.

bottom of page